Music Photo Award 2022

Image Auckland is delighted to announce the winners of 2022 Music Photography Award - Whakaahua Puoro Toa

The 2022 Award was judged by Dave Simpson, of FromThePit fame, which started in 2018. 
Dave is a professional photographer covering live events for 20 years, who's images regularly appear in numerous local and international publications including The New York TimesUSA TodayThe GuardianThe Daily MailThe SunNewsweekRollingStoneBillboardForbes, Vanity Fair,  PeopleThe Huffington Post, Pitchfork and NME, and is a Getty Images contributor.

2022 Music Photography Award 1st Prize: Photographer - Dave Watson, Foo Fighters (Dave Grohl) performing at Mt Smart Stadium, 2018

Dave Watson
Judge comment: “This winner really does capture the moment beautifully despite the tricky photoing with the rain. There's a confidence and lightness in the image which matches the stance of the musician who has plenty of room to breath in the picture. The lighting and technical handling are perfect despite the rain. I know we only judged the best single image, but all the images Dave Watson's submitted are exquisitely presented, and he's a master of his craft.”

David wins $1500 cash. Dave said he's delighted and its "great this one won, as it signifies the per pandemic years where New Zealand was a main touring country. He's looking forward to the return of these big stadium concerts with world's superstars in town to photograph"

2022 Music Photography Award 2nd Prize: Photographer - Shelley Te Haara, Julia Deans, performing at the first Songbirds in Suburbia

Judge comment: “Whilst not technically perfect, it tells a strong story. It's dark and moody, with harsh lighting and I like the graphic handling. It speaks to me about a musician performing against adversity and everything that nature is throwing against her (rain being an allegory for Covid and lockdowns?). Yet, she continues to perform sheltered under an umbrella.”

Shelley wins $750 cash. Shelley said the win had "made my day" and "thanks to the judge, who she has "stood with in the pit" on many occasions"

View all the 2022 entries

Music Photography Award 2021

Watch now on You Tube - Veronica McLaughlin, Award winner -

VeronicaMcLaughlin; Postcards

Auckland Festival of Photography and Auckland UNESCO City of Music are proud to present the inaugural Aotearoa Music Photography Award | Whakaahua Puoro Toa competition winners:

Veronica McLaughlin, Delaney Davidson
Winner: Veronica McLaughlin, Delaney Davidson
Doug Peters
2nd Prize: Doug Peters, Florence + The Machine

View all the 2021 entries

Stay informed of our festivals and news

Subscribe to our newsletter and we'll send you periodic updates.